Cahill Building and Roofing, Inc.

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

44 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses

Contact

10845 South Ridgeway Avenue
Chicago, IL 60655
https://www.cahillbuilding.com

Hours

  • Mon: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Tue: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Wed: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Thu: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Fri: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Sat: Closed
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Roofing
    • Siding
    • Gutter
    • Masonary
    • Tuckpointing
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates
    • Warranty Offered
    • Credit Cards Accepted

    Ratings

    4.5
    25 Verified Reviews
    • 5
      20
    • 4
      2
    • 3
      1
    • 2
      2
    • 1
      0

    Highly rated for

    • Quality
    • Customer Service
    Showing 1-10 of 25 results
    3.0 Willie r. R. Chicago, IL
    7/13/2023

    Timely. They brought everything needed. it was minor repairs, but 2nd story, and i don't climb roofs anymore. Essential repairs. 3stars

    5.0 Nneka C. Chicago, IL
    4/21/2022

    They were fast and efficient since they have inventory of materials. Very professional.

    5.0 Lovest M. Chicago, IL
    10/6/2021

    Guys showed up on time, did a great job plus a little extra i asked them to do while here. Would definitely use again

    4.5 Joseph J. Tinley Park, IL
    9/17/2021

    Prompt and professional

    5.0 Daniel B. Chicago, IL
    4/19/2021

    Great work and service

    1.5 A N. Chicago, IL
    11/30/2020

    I contracted with Cahill roofing approximately 4 years ago on a roofing job which consisted of new shingles ice shield new vents installed. My roof had a bow in it after they had completed job called owner out to complain and he still didn?t resolve paid 4800 for the roof and had to pay another contracting company to fix the bowed roof who also explained to me that ice and water shield was never installed in the valley of the portion of roof I had fixed. Customer service is terrible owner scheduled with me come out on a Saturday and never showed had to make a secondary appt with him in which he showed and stated the way to resolve roof issue was to send roofers back out to cut the shingles back will straighten out the roof which it didn?t and I had to pay over half of the cost for the new roof with another contractor. Please utilize another contractor if you can because Cahill doesn?t take responsibility for botched jobs and ignore customers when trying to resolve job contracted to do. A.Neely

    Response from Company:

    In 2016 Cahill Building and Roofing was contracted to install a new roof for Mr. Neely on his home. We were to remove the existing shingles and replace any damaged plywood as need, as stated in our contract any plywood to be changed would be additional. Please see below the statement that was listed on the contract for Cahill, and was initialed and signed by Mr. Neely. Mr. Neely, in 2019, called Cahill Building and Roofing back out for more services to be completed on his home. Cahill Building and Roofing then performed soffit repairs for Mr. Neely, and he did not mention any complaints in regards to his roof replacement that Cahill performed 3 years prior. Mr. Neely made a phone call out to us this year in regards to his roofing concerns, and an appointment was scheduled with Martin Cahill. Mr. Cahill was not able to make the first requested appointment but made it to the home of Mr. Neely that following weekend to meet with him. Mr. Cahill mentioned to Mr. Neely that his shingles extended over the gutter line and sent an employee that following week out to cut back these shingles. Cahill Building and Roofing were paid to remove and replace the shingles on the roof and were not contracted to make any structural repairs, nor would the shingles being replaced would cause structural damage. Mr. Cahill cannot say what type of structural damage maybe but did request Mr. Neely to send us over the receipt for the work that was completed by the new roofers, but Mr. Neely decline. Mr. Cahill mentioned to Mr. Neely that if any of our work was at fault we would take full responsibility for the issue. Since Mr. Neely declined to show us the description of work that was completed by the new roofers we are not able to determine what was even completed. Mr. Neely also accused our company of not installing ice and water shield to his valleys which was told to him by the new roofer, we did ask Mr. Neely to show pictures but also declined on this as well. Ice and water shield is something that is installed to any roof replacement that Cahill Building and Roofing performs. If Mr. Neely would like to give us a description from the new company that repaired his roof or show proof of no ice and water being installed Cahill would take full responsibility. Proposal Statement: Remove and dispose of all shingle roofing material on the entire home Clean torn out area and check for damaged wood (Replace as needed) NOTE: Wood replacement will be at $50.00 per sheet for plywood or $3.00 per linear foot for 1x Furnish and install ice and water shield in valley and gutter edges and all low pitched roof areas Furnish and install Rhino Synthetic Breathable Roofing Membrane to the roof deck area Furnish and install new architectural Iko limited lifetime shingles using 4 nails per shingle to torn out area Furnish and install new vents to the entire roof area Furnish and install new soil stack covers Furnish and install new aluminum flashing around the entire chimney Use caulk wherever necessary Color of shingles to be approved by the homeowner Cahill Building is not responsible for reattaching any satellite dishes or antennas to chimneys or roofs NOTE: PAYMENT TERMS ARE AS FOLLOWS: 1/2 DOWN IS DUE UPON START OF JOB AND REMAINING BALANCE IS DUE UPON COMPLETION. Work includes a FIVE-year warranty against labor and workmanship Additional Warranty is provided by the manufacturer by IKO's Limited Lifetime warranty on shingles.

    5.0 Ramon M. Chicago, IL
    11/12/2020

    They are a very proffessional and courteus team. They did a great job on a very affordable price with out sacrificing the quality of their work.

    3.5 Stanley W. Chicago, IL
    8/26/2020

    5.0 Mary N. Calumet City, IL
    7/13/2020

    They did a great job. The 95 year old house looks like new after tuckpointing and acid wash. I had them rebuild the front brick walls on the new porch of my bungalow. I was not happy with the workmanship on them. They came out, tore them down and rebuilt. It is just beautiful. Very happy with their service

    5.0 Jack T. Skokie, IL
    6/26/2020

    Highly recommend Cahill Building and Roofing. There was a hailstorm April 7 in Skokie. We called trusted contractor Cahill who had done tuckpointing in the past for us. They are a medium sized company and responded quickly. Marty Cahill pointed out other damage such as screened porch, air conditioner fins, downspouts, back storm door and leaf guards. Cahill acted as a general contractor during the Covid-19 social distancing so I would not have to go into stores at age 80. They were the perfect fit for fixing my problems.

    Photos

    Cahill Building and Roofing, Inc.
    10
    Kimbark Ave
    14
    Washington St

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    Required
    Required
    Required
    Required
     
     
     

    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.