HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

10 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses
  • Bilingual


311 South Willow Avenue, Suite 2
Tampa, FL 33606


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Pools
    • Landscaping
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates
    • Credit Cards Accepted
    • Free Offer

      Free Offer! Get 3rd virtual design on full remodel or new p ...

      Claim This Deal


    18 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    Showing 1-10 of 18 results
    5.0 James S. Wesley Chapel, FL

    We closed on our home the day before thanksgiving 2023 and moved in. Immediately knew we were going to need a pool and the works so the hunt began. After consulting with a number of companies we found Hive Outdoor Living. Todd Walden was our designer and sales specialist and he really looked out for us and listened to our desires. The entire process has been seamless, design beautiful, and product quality is exceptional. The virtual presentation was a great help to visualize what we were going with and how the final project would look. There has been constant communication and updates from Todd and the construction crew. If you can dream it, Todd at Hive Outdoor Living can design it and make it a reality!

    5.0 Jenn C. Land O Lakes, FL

    Hive Outdoor Living exceeded all of our expectations. From start to finish the customer service and quality of work we're phenomenal! Our foreman Teddy was attentive and informative throuout the whole process, answering all of our questions and concerns and really made us apart of the process. Our "pool school" with Ron was exceptional. Ron deserves 5 stars on his own for how knowledgeable and informative he was. He really took the time to explain everything and ensured we knew how to use and care for our pool. We would highly recommend Hive to anyone looking for an outstanding, fast, attentive, informative, quality company to build the backyard of your dreams!

    5.0 Albert N. Hudson, FL

    From the initial contact with the design specialist, Ben Kevler, to the end of construction he has been so accommodating to our schedule. Answer every text, and we' ve texted him a lot. He made us feel we were his only clients. He introduced us to his team and they provided their numbers right away. Teddy and Robert also were very responsive to our texts and accommodating to our schedule. I've read many other pool companies reviews and had concerns since it seemed 90% had some issues. Amazing company from top to bottom, sub-contractors reflect Hive Outdoor Living's customer service priority and model of excellence.

    5.0 Chris T. Tampa, FL

    Outstanding customer service - even 4 years after the installation of our custom spool, Ben Kelver at Hive is still promptly returning our calls/e-mails and providing support for various questions that invariably pop-up after completion.

    5.0 Brad W. San Antonio, FL

    From the moment we met Ben Kelver at the Hive sales office, we knew we were in good hands. Ben was outstanding in helping craft the vision we had for the pool we wanted in our new home. Ben provided us with various options and shared pros/cons of some of our choices. His attention to detail on the CAD drawings was top-notch. Once we were under contact and had the permits, Ben came to our home with Project Managers Ron and Teddy. During this kick-off meeting, we were told to circle a specific future date on our calendar and the pool would be done by that date. Through the dedicated efforts of Teddy leading some awesome subcontractors for pool construction, pavers, screened enclosure and landscaping repairs our pool was delivered earlier than anticipated. Once construction was complete, Ron took over for our orientation and did a great job explaining all of the equipment and required maintenance. Our experience with the Hive team couldn't have gone any better. Their communication throughout the process was A+!! My wife and I would highly recommend prospective pool purchasers to consider HIVE if you want an excellent experience!

    5.0 Anthony J. Tampa, FL

    Ben Kelver with Hive worked with us from the initial design process to the final build. Ben has a keen eye for great design customized to your lot and needs. He is extremely knowledgeable about not only the building process but helps you out afterwards getting to know the features of your new pool and spa. Technology is ever-present now and pool functions have become very high tech, which I really like. I can control my pool via my phone from anywhere in the world. Ben has a patient personality. I had many questions, but he always calmly and completely addressed my concerns. Hive is fortunate to have such knowledgeable employees.

    5.0 Van M. Blaine, MN

    We hired Hive for an extensive backyard project (pool, outdoor kitchen, fire pit area, and putting green) Not only did they do incredible work but the project was done in a very reasonable amount of time. I would highly recommend Ben and Hive!!!

    1.0 Peter P. Saint Petersburg, FL

    Mediocracy at its finest. Extremely unprofessional in the way they approach just about everything. Hive took a full 2 years to complete the project, and 1 full year after we were originally told it was to be completed. The original project manager, Steve, hardly ever came on site and was impossible to get ahold of. There was a period of roughly 4 months where he never called me back and I had to search out the owners information in order to find out what was going on. 14 months into the project they had to redesign the deck because the project manager never took the time to vet the drawings and the elevations were not accurate. Instead of apologizing, they complained about how it was going to cost them more money in concrete and stucco and asked me if I was willing to pay more. They did not send anyone out to prep the site before gunite and I had to spend hours scraping gunite off my eaves and fence. Their response was it is what it is. They destroyed my neighbors fence during the dig which is not a huge ordeal because accidents happen, but it took them several months to replace it. They tried more than once to get one of their handymen out to replace just the broken section with a cheap Home Depot panel which did not even match the original fence. I had to approach Robert about it after the city started sending me violation notices. Hive never installed construction fence around the project and I had to field court dates from the city because of multiple violations. They fired 3 project managers during the course of the build and each new person that took over was about as unreachable, unreliable, and unprofessional as the previous. The majority of the subs that I spoke with told me they were either ending their relationship with Hive or strongly considering it in the near future. Almost every single project that was done had to be fixed or redone. They eliminated the original overflow because they insisted the autofill had a built in overflow that would do the same thing. Unsurprisingly, the 1/2 inch pvc overflow connected to the autofill was worthless so they then had to core drill a new overflow pipe. They didnt put any hydraulic cement around the new pipe or seal it so it leaks. A pool return had to be moved 5 times because these guys couldnt figure out where it should go. They ended up setting the relocated return too far from the pool wall and it looks horrendous. The rest of the returns were all installed crooked and sticking out way to far from the pool wall so the result is large anthill like protrusions in the interior finish which looks absolutely terrible. I had to fight with them to get the worst one redone, which ultimately was a mistake because the interior finish patch is absolutely terrible. They never installed the threaded fitting for the bubbler before interior finish so they had to chip all that up and then do repairs afterwards, which like the rest of the repairs, are obviously patches and look terrible. They got hydraulic cement on the sunshelf during this repair and decided the best fix was to pour 3 gallons of muriatic acid in the pool to burn it away. Unfortunately, this resulted in large discolorations and striations across the entire pool. To say I am disappointed with this company would be a drastic understatement. Fixing all of these issues was a struggle because all Hive wanted to do was fight and argue about it. We gave them tens of thousands of dollars and got nothing but a headache in return. There are dozens of pool companies out there, do not make the same mistake we did.

    Response from Company:

    Mr. Pessina, Hive Outdoor is far from perfect, especially in todays climate. But no matter what happens we never quit until our customers pool is as good as it can be. That being said, we knew you were going to leave a bad review, when we did not agree to give you money for any pain and suffering that you felt you might have gone through. The truth is, that construction is never perfect, it is the integrity one has to stick with a project until it is completed. We went above and beyond for you, doing things that we would never do for anyone. We encourage you to share completed photos and let everyone know how your finished pool looks. Regardless, we will always be here for you with any future warranty work that might arise or any questions you might have.

    5.0 C.j. L. Odessa, FL

    In the pandemic-era where we continue to hear about vendors and companies that struggle to deliver due to “supply chain and labor issues”, my wife and I are pleased to say that Hive delivered on every dimension of our pool project. We live in a large master-planned community and there is no shortage of other companies building pools. We talk to our neighbors and hear horror story after horror story of delays and construction issues. Thankfully, none of this with Hive! From planning to execution, the Hive Team (Ben, Robert, Teddy, Steve) was attentive, professional and ethical as they brought our vision to life. During the planning phase, Ben was uber-patient as we worked through ideas and different options with materials and budget. He spent time with us in our home, even connecting his laptop to our big-screen TV so we could see our design come to life. During the actual project, both Teddy and Steve were very responsive, and the crew was very polite and respectful. Building a pool is a significant investment and no small undertaking and we strongly recommend you consider Hive for your project!

    5.0 Fred F. Pungoteague, VA

    Great custom pool and outdoor kitchen builder


    Hive Outdoor Living, LLC
    Del Rio

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.