A & R Decorating & Restoration

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

37 Years In Business

Company Details


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Bathroom - Remodel
    • Garage - Remodel
    • Drywall - Install & Repair
    • Interior Painting or Staining: 1 - 4 Rooms
    • Interior or Exterior Painting or Staining - Small Projects
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates


    14 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    Showing 1-10 of 14 results
    5.0 Stephanie F. Glenview, IL

    Allen and his crew did a great job for us, provided a fair quote and were very timely in starting and completing the job as scheduled. Pleasure to work with and communicated regularly through the process. Would def recommend.

    4.5 Pamela M. Chicago, IL

    Overall, I am happy with the work performed by A&R, and I would hire them again. They were on time, their quote was reasonable, and they were good at communication. The drywall work they did on my bathroom ceiling was excellent. After the first coat of paint, I asked them to clean up a few mud spots, and they corrected the work before the second coat with no problems at all. The worker Alex was very polite and I felt comfortable with him in my home. Their final price was about $50 more than the quote, because they had to do some extra patching, but I thought it was reasonable.

    5.0 Maggie O. Evanston, IL

    Al and his team were great. They were easy to work with, there when they said they would be, and well priced. The final paint job looks great. I will certainly reach out agin for my next project.

    4.5 Robin V. Evanston, IL

    A&R did a really good job on my project. They were here when they said they would be and cleaned up at the end of each day. They were pleasant to deal with and got the job done in the time limit I sent. When the job was done they returned the furniture to their original places. Overall I was very happy with their work.

    1.5 Arlene K. Morton Grove, IL

    If you want a challenge dealing with a painting contractor, this may be the choice for you. It all depends on the level of quality of work you expect. I have a high level of expectation, Al Redmond does not. Our project was painting baseboards, trim in the living room, dining room and hall upstairs and our bathroom. We recently removed the carpeting from our stairs which left them visibly in need of paint on the sides of the stairs. If you have ever painted yourself, or had a painting contractor in your home, you probably know that the end result of the project depends on taking the time to prepare the surfaces you are going to paint. Unfortunately, A &R Decorating does not know that. NO PREP, Sanding etc at all. Just get right to work painting. After the first day, we looked at the work done on our stairs. They just painted right over the discoloration and ridges left from the old carpeting!! No sanding or prep at all!! I let them know they will need to redo the work, with sanding before painting. In the bathroom, I taped each spot for them that needs prep work, sanding, filling, etc. Also, they donâ t remove anything before painting, such as towel bars, lighting fixtures or blinds. Just mask and paint around it. I think you get the idea. If you want quality work from them, you will have to supervise them every step of the way as I did. If you donâ t you will get a job little better than you could do yourself and just as costly as other contractors; we got 3 estimates. They were in the middle.

    4.0 Phill S. Chicago, IL

    Very neat, showed up on schedule, completed the project on a timely basis.

    3.0 Rebekah W. Chicago, IL

    Al did come back and reviewed the work and compared it to the original quote. We were able to come to an amicable agreement. Al is a true professional.

    0.50 Rose A. Saint Augustine Beach, FL

    It has been over 3 years that I had Al and his crew remodel my basement and put in a new entrance garage door. If I had to do it all over again I would have chosen another company. The problem I have now is the garage door has been falling apart peeling and just plain pieces coming off because of the weather. In the summer I cannot close it because of the humidity. I wish I could show pictures of how horrible this door looks. Of course, I have called Al on this problem many times, he blames me for picking this kind of door. Hummm? Who is the contractor here, and should know better what door should be replaced in the outdoor elements? To have to look at this door everyday makes me sick. I have to spend more money and replace it when it should have been done the right way the first time.

    Response from Company:

    We did a complete gut remodel of Rose basement and she was beyond happy with the job even taking pictures with the crew. We were glad she was happy. She then had us paint the exterior of her home, again pleased with the job. She asked us for a quote on the garage entry door, I told her best to get a steel door due to the fact it was out of plumb, the concrete floor was bowed, uneven and the door an odd size Which required a special order and more money, she chose the wood door that we had to cut to fit and told her it was not the best idea but we complied and returned on 3 occasions to plane trim, sand and repaint door. Had she chose.

    5.0 Joanna S. Evanston, IL

    I needed to prep my condo for resale. A.R. Decorating and Remodeling were perfect for the job. They did everything that was needed, with quality outcome, at a fair price, within the time frame I needed the work to be completed. They painted the whole place, restored the sashes and chain mechanism of windows in my 100 year old building, washed them inside and out, reglazed the bathtub and did many handyman fixups. I did not have to take even one hour off work. Allan Redmond, who runs the operation, is professional, knowledgeable and responsive. He sent me photos of the progressing work during the day and answered my questiions, texts and emails at all times, so that communication and expectations were clear throughout the project.

    4.0 Kenilworth, IL

    Al provided quick service and was pleasant to work with. The quality of the work was good at a reasonable price. He and his men also washed our windows, inside and out including storm windows. Stormy weather has resulted in a delay in finishing the painting of one garage door and some clean-up, hopefully to be done when we have a dry, sunny day


    A & R Decorating & Restoration
    Wilmette Exterior
    Evanston by The Lake

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.