HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

7 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Veteran Owned


11421 Sam Lee Rd
Knoxville, TN 37932


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work
  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Commercial Construction
  • Residential Construction
  • Retail Construction
  • Tenant Improvement
  • Home Remodel/Addition
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates


7 Verified Reviews
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Showing 1-7 of 7 results
5.0 Brad F. Knoxville, TN

David was always available to discuss the several projects they did for us. A deck replacement, stairs and face lift on the front porch were fabulous. Everyone who works for the company is polite and competent. I have recommended this company to several others, and they have all thanked me.

0.50 Alli T. Knoxville, TN

David still refused to work with us and we proceeded with a Fair Claims Hearing. The arbitrator heard our case and saw photos of his work , and then awarded us damages. David refused to pay. We are now in the process of enforcing the award as he continues to flout any responsibility. He installed the bathtub incorrectly and it moves and shifts when a person steps into it. He and his crew installed Durock behind the tub and over pieces of old sheetrock and tile that were supposed to be removed during demo. When we asked him about it, his solution was to cover it all up with an additional sheet of durock. He insisted the tub did not move. We had several professionals inspect his work and they confirmed it needed to be redone. He did not agree, saying this was not exactly how it was supposed to be done, but it was a workable solution. He then said if we had never spoken to anyone else we would never have doubted him. He refused to fix the tub installation and instead offered a 15% refund, claiming this is a good faith gesture. He keeps reminding us of his guarantee that he will fix anything in the future, but he refuses to fix the major problems right now.

Response from Company:

I am sorry you feel this way. Is there a reason you did not mention not wanting to pay to move the plumbing? Also, why would you say I told you never to talk to anyone? We both know that is not true.....in fact, is it not true I suggested you speak to the others? Many conditions arise in construction that have to be dealt with onsite. I offered you a solution with a warranty that you declined. I also offered you a full profit refund that you declined. We did exactly what we said we would do when we said we would do it.

5.0 John A. Knoxville, TN

David did his research on our project and reviewed options with us prior to and during construction. They stayed on schedule and completed all work to our satisfaction. We would certainly recommend Petra to anyone looking for a reputable contractor

5.0 Cindy P. Knoxville, TN

David is very easy to work with! From the time David came to prepare an estimate of the job, he was professional, courteous, engaged, and on time. The work is beautiful and well done. He is a great communicator and everything was done as promised, and on time! I will call David again when I have another project.

1.0 David M. Knoxville, TN

Dave did not care what we went thru to prepare for this project. He was very nice and professional when he wanted our work and deposit, the day of the job started he was rude. I would consider working with them again if he said he was sorry and followed the pre-job instructions we agreed to prior to starting the project.

Response from Company:

I am sorry you feel I was rude David. I found it equally as rude you cussing my workers and being unprepared for us to start. Everyone deserves respect. As I said the morning we left, we are not a match and things would have only gotten worse from there. I am glad I caught it early enough to return your deposit and not cause trouble for both of us. Best of luck!

5.0 Brad T. Knoxville, TN

They showed up on time, when they said they would be here and were very courteous. They did the work outlined in the estimate as expected. This company was referred to me by a friend and I would absolutely recommend them! I love that they give discounts to veterans and elderly. Honest and dependable people.

4.5 Ronny P.

Honest, Dependable, shows up when he says he's going to and performs the work he says, per the estimate. Does great work have and will continue to refer this company.


Petra Construction Company, LLC
Horizon Heights House #2
Horizon Heights House #1
Anytime Fitness

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.