HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

38 Years In Business

Company Details


2902 Furman Ln Apt 202
Alexandria, VA 22306


  • Mon: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Tue: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Wed: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Thu: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Fri: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  • Sat: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work
  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Chimney or Fireplace - Clean Inspect Repair Rebuild
  • Dryer Vents - Cleaned Repair Moved
  • Antique fireplace restoration and converted to gas
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Warranty Offered
  • Credit Cards Accepted


142 Verified Reviews
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1

Highly rated for

  • Quality
  • Customer Service
Showing 1-10 of 142 results
4.5 Cindy C. Springfield, VA

He was very nice and able to get do my inspection and cleaning in a timely manner

5.0 Joe M. Vienna, VA

Straight forward enough. Had some issues figuring out the gas fireplace and the gas feed, which to his credit is not that straight forward. Easy to schedule and coordinate with. Happy with Tom’s service, would recommend.

5.0 Bob S. Burke, VA

Responsive, came the next day. Cleaned the chimney and gas logs very thoroughly. Left no mess. Courteous and professional.

4.0 Tami S. Lorton, VA

Good work!

5.0 Stephanie K. Annandale, VA

Timely, excellent service & well priced, I would hire again.

5.0 Lynda A. Sterling, VA

Very responsive. Quoted costs before performing any work or additional work required. Our job was not an easy one and difficult to access.

0.50 Susan R. Alexandria, VA

Do not hire. I hired him to clean and inspect the fireplace and he said he would do a dryer vent inspection for free. He turned the fireplace on and went outside to look at the top of the chimney and never touched one thing inside of the fireplace and that cost $130. He went downstairs to inspect the dryer vent determined he needed to clean it out and started the job without giving us a price or asking us if we wanted it clean. He told us it would be over $200 to clean the dryer vent. He was extremely rude and disrespectful and did not do what he told me he would do when I talked to him over the phone.

Response from Company:

An inspection is 130.00 that includes the fireplace, chimney and dryer vent exhaust. After inspecting the units I returned to you and told you the fireplace is fine but the dryer needed cleaning. The cost was 99.95 plus 5.00 per foot for how ever long the run of the dryer was and I wouldn't know how long the run is until I cleaned the run so I can count the rods but there would be no 130.00 inspection fee. You said ok and I cleaned the dryer exhaust. So honestly I don't know where the communication broke down. The exhaust was full of lint. Dryer exhaust work by volume not pressure. You shouldn't let your exhaust get more than 1/4 inch build up at the dryer and yours was well beyond that at the termination outside. 200.00 was a good price for what was performed.

5.0 Margaret L. Falls Church, VA

Expensive but it was a tough job he did a good job of cleaning out a dryer vent in a condo unit that probably ever been cleaned before.

3.0 Ranveer A. Aldie, VA

This guy suggests a base price and per foot length of the cleaning pipe that goes through the vent, if the exterior vent requires for the ladder height to be greater than 22feet. He uses my patio to leverage his small size ladder , but charges me for per foot length. In addition since there is a clog as part of cleaning, he charges me a $$$ for clog removal totaling to a ridiculous bill. If the job is meant for vent cleaning how does it matter if there is clog or no clog. They use gimmicks to get you sign up initially but leave you with a big bill, unfortunately.

Response from Company:

I am sorry you were not completely satisfied with my service. There were issues with this particular job. When I arrived I went over the setup cost and per foot cost of the run and the ladder charge. I explained that I don't know how long the run is until I clean the pipe because his pipe was hidden and he did not know where his pipe was exhausted out too. He agreed. So I turned the dryer on went outside and no exhaust vent was open indicating the dryer exhausted out the roof. So to lower the cost of the ladder charge my assistant and I hoisted the extension ladder up to his deck then got on the roof and discovered there is no exhaust vent on the roof. So we removed the ladder from the deck then got a second taller extension ladder and put it on the side of the property and had to position the ladder twice to find the exhaust termination the vent was not opening at all because the pipe was 100% blocked. I notified him there would be an extra charge and I did not know how much because I have had clogs that didn't take extra time or equipment to unclog and I didn't charge extra, but his pipe turned out to be clogged the whole run and was loaded with water. I have had a clog that required going in through drywall and the job took 12 hours to complete. There was a clog charge that was nominal. I did not really charge him for the ladders at all I added the words "and ladder" to the line for the clog charge on the bill because I did not want to open that can of worms again. There could have been two ladder charges. I do not use gimmicks and I do not upsell items to customers that they do not need.

4.0 Nancy W. Alexandria, VA

They did a good job!


Mr. Sweep of NOVA
Typical Crown Coat and br

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.