Morgan Design Group, Architects

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

33 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses


2775 Green Leaf Court
Westminster, MD 21157


  • Mon: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Tue: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Wed: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Thu: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Fri: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Sat: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
  • Sun: Closed
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work
  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Architect
  • Interior Design
  • Landscape Design
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates


9 Verified Reviews
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Showing 1-9 of 9 results
1.0 Nicholas F. Berlin, MD

We hired Jeff to design a small office building on our own land. Jeff's knowledge of local codes and building permits in Carroll County, were poor. The permit set went through several revisions before being approved. Jeff's snotty attitude and comments to the permit officials exacerbated the problem no dout. Jeff then decided to charge us $7,500 extra because he had such a hard time getting approvals. Unbelievable. In his contract he signed up to approve RFI's and Submittals, though we did not choose to hire him for a full CA packaged. When it came to answer the first RFI, he claimed CA is not his responsibility and he tried to hold us up for more money. I would NEVER recommend Jeff for a commercial project. He, clearly, does not understand commecial construction, even light commercial, wood frame.

Response from Company:

As always, when the client does not want to pay their bill, they make up excuses. Nick is simply incorrect in his description. Here is the truth: Nick wanted only the bear minimum drawings to obtain a building permit in Carroll County because he did not want to pay for anything else. My fee estimate was based accordingly. The only issues was that in my past experience with Carroll County Building Permits office, they would accept my architectural seal on the Structural Framing Plans. (they have done so for all past projects in Carroll County) However, for some unknown reason this time they wanted a structural engineer's seal. I explained this to Nick and we agreed to split the additional fee. No problem. Additionally, the permit office failed to do a complete and proper review of my plans causing me to spend extra time explaining to them what they failed to see on my plans. They wanted written item by item response which took additional time. My knowledge of local codes is actually quite food. Disagreeing with a permit official is not being "snotty", I am always professional and this was working in my client's best interest. I understand commercial construction quite well, including light commercial and wood frame construction. actually, i am considered an expert in this field. So, Nick is blaming me for the County permit office's incompetence.

0.50 Lance R. Baltimore, MD

if I could leave no star I would. I plan to sue this person/company all the way to the Supreme Court . Jeff Morgan likes to flaunt his expertise and years of experience around with parakeet like responses to his failure to keep a schedule or complete work in the time frame he committed too. He reminds me of the type that only works on a project between snacks and when its time to produce he has a litany of well rehearsed excuses, (this , that, what you were asking me was impossible), it was just an estimated time frame you did not communicate that to me con con con I, am not an architect, I can not put my john hancock on drawings an submit them for a building permit, however I am proficient with autocad inventor, fusion 360 pro , I know how long it takes to 3d a floor plan (Fully Dimensioned ). I am sure revit is even faster . This company is a dinosaur. Cant wait to get this person /company in court.

Response from Company:

Very interesting! Lance Ruffin seemed to have dropped off the face of the earth. On 4/28/21 we sent him updated plans for his review and comment. We received no response what-so-ever.. I followed up with telephone calls and additional emails but no response at all. He has simply vanished. Clearly by the tone of his comments, he is the one with the unprofessional attitude and lack of maturity. Our company is not a dinosaur. In fact, we incorporate the latest technologies for design and production. I would welcome the opportunity to challenge him in court.

4.0 Joseph C. Glen Burnie, MD

Excellent work over all Great Job..!!!!

5.0 T L. Burtonsville, MD

If there was a higher rating than a 5, I would give it to this impressive design group. The principal architect, Mr. Jeffrey B. Morgan, was attentive to our requests, extremely knowledgeable about our county's code requirements, and saved us thousands of dollars in unnecessary expenses after successfully arguing code details with the county. He listened carefully to our wishes to provide a dignified beautiful setting adjacent to our home for an aging parent, making thoughtful suggestions that showed considerable detailed experience with such projects and the result is everything we wanted and more.

5.0 Bridget R. Sykesville, MD

Mr. Morgan was easy to talk to and always answered questions quickly. I felt as if my job came first which is great because I know they were busy!

1.0 Mizan R. Silver Spring, MD

Mr. Jeff is a con man about architecting a house. His quality of work is lousy and his behaviour in terms of professionalism is very bad. At beginning he will behave like very good service provider but time will come for service delivery he is worst I found in my life time. I paid him 10k for nothing. Another architect I had hire who charged me 12k but service is awesome. And after going through 50% of the building process I felt so glad that I fired him otherwise in every step he would make my life horrible. I was also glad that I threw his plan out which would certainly gave me a hard time to get it approve when I saw the work of my current architect. Normally I do not write negative review of any one for some mistakes but this one was beyond my imagination. I wish I never met him.

Response from Company:

WOW! We take great pride in our client services. I always keep my finger on the pulse of my clients feelings and expectations, therefore I am quite surprised by this review. First, here are some quotes via email directly from (consumer name withheld per their request) himself; A) "And again thank you so much for all the help, greatly appreciated" B) "Thank you so much for your help on plan submission, much appreciated". C)"I went through all the drawings, looks very good to me." D) "Thank you so much, Jeff, appreciated. I am glad that you did not misunderstand me. Please think this we are in the same boat until our journey concluded." (Sounds like a satisfied client to me.) By the way, (consumer name withheld per their request) DID NOT FIRE ME. I COMPLETED THE JOB FOR HIM. HE ACTUALLY GOT HIS BUILDING PERMIT THANKS TO ME. He purchased a piece of property in the city limits of Rockville, MD without knowing that the city has the most intense and restrictive building development regulations in the Country. IE they require all the site development and drawing submissions as a multi-story, large commercial project for even the simplest and smallest of single-family homes. Secondly, he wanted to put 10lbs into a 5lb box and simply could not afford to do it. He wanted an extremely grandiose design (double-curved stair is one example) I explained to him that A) the building regulations in Rockville would require a higher than normal design fee, and B) he could not afford such a large grandiose design. But he could not understand and did not believe me and insisted on said design, dispute my recommendations. He also insisted that I put windows in the basement without window wells, which would mean that you would see the earth through the window. Obviously, this would be absurd and a code violation, but he was unable to understand that. I provided my services in a highly professional manner with integrity and my drawings were of the highest quality. Regarding "service delivery", I even went the extra mile and accompanied him at the permit office (free of charge) and I was successful in securing his building permit. However, he decided to cancel the project when the Contractors bid came in high like I said they would all along. He said he was going to sell the property due to the overly burdensome building regulations in Rockville and the cost of construction. He expressed no dissatisfaction with my services what-so-ever, in fact, quite the contrary. (He actually praised me for my professional services) In my opinion, he bit off more than he could chew and is making me the "fall guy". Honestly, his review was a complete surprise to me. I have reached out to him to follow up on his recent comments, but he has not returned my calls. We have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. Please see our other great reviews.

0.50 Karla P.

Original drawings did not reflect what I directed him to draft initially. There were constant delays, billing and invoice inaccuracies and cost has tripled from orig estimate, and they refuse to make it right. I feel that he deceived and gouged me.

Response from Company:

Karla wanted a design that violated the Baltimore City Building Code. She was unable to understand this (she was an out-of-State client). I explained to her that as a professional architect I am bound to ethical standards, and I would not violate the Building Code. We worked out designs that met her needs and the building code, which she approved. Actually, it was she who delayed the project because invoices went unpaid for over 95 days. All invoices were very detailed with an hourly breakdown for each category, comported with the estimate of our fee, and 100% accurate. Please see our other great reviews.

5.0 Robert R. Gaithersburg, MD

5.0 Warren B.

Jeffrey is very personable and does a great job with his work. I highly recommend him.


Morgan Design Group, Architects
Gibson's Grant
City of District Heights
Williamsburg Landing
Clinton Commons ALF
The Heritage Senior Livin
Chester River Landing
District Heights Senior C

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.