HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

18 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses
  • Bilingual


2936 NW 27th St
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33311


  • Mon: Open 24 Hours
  • Tue: Open 24 Hours
  • Wed: Open 24 Hours
  • Thu: Open 24 Hours
  • Fri: Open 24 Hours
  • Sat: Open 24 Hours
  • Sun: Open 24 Hours
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

  • Residential Work
  • Commercial Work
  • Small Jobs Welcome

Areas of Expertise

  • Moving
  • Packing & unpacking
  • Long Distance & Int'l relocation
  • GOV. Move/ Military Moves
View All Offerings and Cities Served

Cost Information

  • Free Estimates
  • Warranty Offered
  • Credit Cards Accepted


125 Verified Reviews
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Showing 1-10 of 125 results
0.50 Dutch D. Raleigh, NC

DO NOT use GM Van Lines! GM Van Lines quoted about $2000 for my move from NC to Florida. I provided a detailed list of items and photos of the furniture to be moved. They loaded my things from the apartment and went to the furniture store to load my furniture. At the furniture store, GM Van Lines doubled the estimated cost from around $2000 to $4400, claiming I had more items than what was listed. I did not have more items and I sent photos of the furniture that needed to be moved when they quoted $2000 to move 2700 lbs. Some of the furniture was disassembled by the store for the move but GM Van Lines considered that as additional parts. They refused to move my things to Florida unless I pay $4400. I was forced to negotiate the price down as I have already moved out of my apartment. They are going to respond to this message with the following lies: 1. We offered a refund- They said I will not get my refund back. 2. We will move if you remove the additional items - Theres no additional items. The beds were disassembled, and GM Van Lines thinks the parts are additional items. DO NOT use this dishonest mover.

Response from Company:

Mr. [Consumer Name Removed] contacted our office to get an estimate from NC to FL. He provided us over the phone with the list of items to be moved. We gave him an estimate of $1863. He agreed and paid a deposit of $396.00 and scheduled a move date for 06/29/24. Our truck arrived on 06/29/24 at Mr. [Consumer Name Removed] apartment to pick up the belongings and loaded everything from his apartment then he also included an additional stop at a furniture store where he had purchased furniture that he wanted to take with him as well. While at the furniture store, the foreman explained to Mr. [Consumer Name Removed] before loading the truck that there were additional items and the furniture was very big and would take up more than the half truck space than anticipated. We provided him with a new estimate and at this point, Mr. [Consumer Name Removed]got upset and angrily disapproved so we offered to just take back everything already loaded in the truck to his apartment free of charge and be done. Once Mr. [Consumer Name Removed] came to terms, he agreed and understood that he had more items and giant furniture he offered to pay $3000 but we refused to take that offer and again offered to bring everything back to his apartment at no cost. Mr. [Consumer Name Removed]didn?t want us to unload everything back to his apartment because he was required to vacant the property by 06/30/24. In good faith, trying to help him, we agreed to do the move for $3200 which was much below the actual cost. Mr. [Consumer Name Removed]requested to have his items delivered by 07/01/24 and stated that the building would not allow deliveries on 07/04.Also Mr. [Consumer Name Removed] knew delivery can take up to 21 business days . Our truck arrived in Florida on the night of 07/03 and notified Mr. [Consumer Name Removed] that we could do delivery on 07/05 at 9 am (we know we can?t do delivery on July 4th ) Mr. [Consumer Name Removed] called back and said that the building would not allow him to get delivery on 07/05 either and only on Monday 07/08/24 at noon, so we courteously kept his stuff on the truck for 3 days at no additional cost even though this would hold the truck back from being in route for 3 more days. We value our customers and are dedicated to ensuring a positive experience. If there are any additional details or documentation required to further investigate this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

3.5 Gary S. Randleman, NC

The move is pending however the company customer service is great!

0.50 Wendy H. Rome, GA

Several smashed boxes, items missing. Broken items and they jacked the price up at the last minute over $2000!! Ladies in the office were very nice but the owner was horrible and rude. The guy moving and packaging myself was very unprofessional. Talked to his girlfriend on FaceTime while she was in bed while I was trying to sign papers and verify things. DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY!

5.0 Leroy W. Cary, NC

On time the guys were fast

4.0 Jasmine D. Durham, NC

They were a day late, due to weather and the inability to drop a previous load.

4.5 James D. Mars Hill, NC

These guys did a great job on pickup and delivery. No damage to anything!

0.50 Sajida P. Greenville, NC

Bad service. They gave a wrong estimate for the move and charged $3000 higher than the agreed charges.

0.50 Ardis S. Blairsville, GA

The contracted employees were great, hardworking. The actual employees and their management were subpar. If a negative rating could be given, they would earn it. I have a 3 story 600 sq ft house. I requested an in-person estimate for a move. I was told the company did not do in-person estimates. My initial contact was Oded Gur. He was told about the issues we had moving from TX to GA 3 yrs ago. He was told an 18 wheeler would not fit due to the turn into my driveway. He was told it would be better to load 26 ft trucks. I requested **whiter glove** treatment, full packing. Oded was told I had a pool table and 65 inches TV that would require third-party handling. He promised that his people could disassemble a pool table and handle taking a large TV from the wall without a problem. Oded was told that I needed to pack in 2 days and leave on the third day. He was also told it was not possible to do a video estimate because of poor internet service in the area. He accepted our old inventory from 3 years ago plus an additional list of items not on the inventory. Oded figured the estimate at 27986lbs. The cost of the pool table and full packing was $22905.34. Since that initial contact I have not heard, been texted, etc from Oded. He does not return calls, emails, or texts. Then the actual moving /packing problem began. Day #1 Two guys, Ian and Niko showed up with a 26 ft truck. When asked about other members of their team, I was told they would be there in about 4 hours. Four hrs later 2 more guys showed up. They quit at 6 pm, loading nothing in the trucks. Day#2 0900HRS Five people showed up to pack, Ian and Niko did not show up till 1000. By 1400HRS the workers were out of packing supplies and boxes. They took the one-loaded truck and said they were going to offload it to an 18 wheeler. Everybody left and did not come back. Day#3 The packers showed up at 0900HRS, still no packing supplies so they started moving things from the upstairs and basement to the main level. 1300HRS Ian and Niko show up with a 26ft truck with packing material. Ian proceeds to tell me that **due to the packing** he would have to go over the inventory and raise the price of the move. He said he had been on the phone the previous evening talking with his boss. I told Ian I had a contract and that the pool table, extra packing, etc. was included in the cost estimate contract. I called his boss, David, and told him that everything Oded had promised was not true, his management was poor, his workers had not been supplied with the needed manpower or the necessary supplies, etc. The topper was watching Ian put untaped plastic dressers, with contents falling out onto the truck, watching as a box fell off a transfer truck and hit the pavement, and, then telling me that it would require another full day to finish packing. Day#4 After canceling and readjusting all our travel plans. Ian and Nikmo show up at 1000HRS while the other packers have been here since 0900HRS. David, their boss, is again unavailable. NEVER USE THIS COMPANY! As a former military, this mover is definitely the worst we have come across. The sad thing is that HomeAdvisor had them as highly rated. They should have negative ratings in BBB as well as HomeAdvisor.

0.50 Loreisha C. Charlotte, NC

DO NOT USE THIS MOVING COMPANY. The reviews listed here as well as on the BBB website for this company are intentionally misleading as they are trying to drown out the real reputation of the company. To know the truth, please see their reviews on Yelp. I have filed a complaint with the BBB as well as the FMCSA for deceptive business practices. They intentionally leave out information shared during the quote process so they can give surprise charges the day of the moving. For starters, the movers were VERY late the day of the move and on top of that I had to chase down the company to find out when the movers were definitely going to show up. When trying to reach out to my consultant it was shared by the movers that my person was on vacation which after further review of this company and other customers complaints that they experienced the same thing when their move went awry. GM Van Lines is a moving company who had enough scamming sense to have people pad their review scores so they look favorable to potential customers, but they are no better than the other moving broker companies who have the same shady business practices. I am currently awaiting for my case to be resolved and have full intention of pursuing legal action if it is not corrected. Save yourself the headache and do not even bother.

0.50 Nicole L. Douglasville, GA

If you want your items to arrive a week late, with your boxes and the contents inside WET and many boxes crushed hire this company. AFTER they received my payment they could not care less about anything.


GM Van Lines, Inc.
out of state move
GM @ Work
GM @ work

HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

Seal of Approval

What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

  1. Verify Trade License
    HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
  2. Verify Insurance
    As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
  3. Verification of State Business Filings
    For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
  4. Criminal Records Search
    HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
  5. Sex Offender Search
    We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
  6. Bankruptcy Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
  7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
  8. Liens Search
    We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
  9. Identity Verification (SSN)
    HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
  10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
    We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

**Only for U.S. service professionals

Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.