Captain Soot Home & Chimney Repair, Inc.

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

25 Years In Business

Company Details


60 Baylawn Drive
Copiague, NY 11726


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Fireplaces
    • Chimneys
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates


    12 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    Showing 1-10 of 12 results
    5.0 Regina L. Bohemia, NY

    One of the most reasonable quotes. Came out twice to see house and hearth setup. Great communication. Work was neat, precise, our roof was tricky but managed it just fine. Cleaned house totally, like no work even done.

    4.5 Albert L. Mattituck, NY

    Captain Soot installed my chimney and, after another service call, also cleaned and swept the chimney. Very pleased with the workman ship and responsiveness!

    5.0 Scott R. Mount Sinai, NY

    3.0 J R. Bay Shore, NY

    Still finding cigarette butts and putting nails back into rafters. Can't try stove until it's colder.

    4.0 Lake Ronkonkoma, NY

    5.0 Barbara L. Smithtown, NY

    This was a very professional job, and we are very happy with the result. I recommend him highly.

    5.0 Mary S. Port Washington, NY

    Several of my family members who live out of the tri-state area had installed fireplace inserts, and they were really pleased with them. The price they paid was considerably less (about 40% less) than the places I checked on Long Island. I wasn't about to overpay for a fireplace insert because I went to a fancy showroom. Looking on, I found Captain Soot. He asked me to describe my fireplace (which was built in 1962) and provide him with overall outside dimensions and depth of the firebox. He suggested the same model that my family members had installed, and the price was right! I also needed a new chimney which he gave me a good price on. The Captain almost seemed too good to be true. I thought there had to be a catch, but no! He showed up when he said he would, with the fireplace model & finish we discussed, with the new flue, all at the price we discussed and did everything professionally and quickly. We have had our insert for two years, and the Captain recommended that after two years we get the flue cleaned. There is no one else would would rather have maintain our fireplace. Highly recommend!

    5.0 Silvia S. Bellmore, NY

    Very nice to deal with

    5.0 Glenn T. Roslyn Heights, NY

    Captain Soot came in and completed all stone work, replaced damper, and changed piping into furnace in just 1day!

    0.50 Pound Ridge, NY

    Captain Soot installed our fireplace a few weeks ago. We needed to call a maintenance service to fix the unit. It was installed dangerously incorrectly!! The pilot light was installed backwards and the fan was never hooked up. We have called the company and are waiting to hear if we will get the $750 refund which was the price of the install. The beautiful, expensive, tempered heat resistant glass cover is permanently etched due to improper placement of the decorative glass covering the burner. The gas popped because the glass was covering the holes and dirt and glass pieces are now stuck to the window for the fireplace. We want our money back for the dangerous installation so we can buy a new glass piece.

    Response from Company:

    Lets look at the facts here. When we worked at your home there was no gas or electric run as of yet to hook up to the unit. All we did was put it in place install the vent. After we had done that your general contractor who you got the unit from had to install electric and gas to the unit. The blower we hooked up to your signature control module still needed to be plugged into a outlet located inside the lower control area of the fireplace. This could not be done because your general contractor still needed to run electric to the unit. In order to Run the electric to the outlet inside the lower control area of that particular fireplace and plug in the control module . YOU MUST DISSASEMBLE THE BOTTOM OF THE FIREBOX . Therefore the bottom of the firebox was disassembled AFTER MY PART OF THE JOB WAS COMPLETE which requires the media to be removed and replaced. Furthermore the gas had to be hooked up BY SOMEONE ELSE AFTER MY PART OF THE JOB WAS COMPLETE. More Than that SEE PAGE 45 FIGURE 2 OF YOUR OWNERS MANUEL THE PILOT IS A COMPLETE ASSEMBLY consisting of the ignitor, pilot,thermocouple and thermopile THIS IS ASSEMBLED AT THE FACTORY NOT BY ME OR ANYONE ELSE. IF your pilot light was installed backwards ( PHYSICALLY IMPOSSIBLE AGAIN SEE PG 45 FIGURE 2) it was done at the factory in that case contact the dealer you purchased the unit from. If anyone thinks what I am saying is not true go to majestic products com download installation and operating instructions for the Echelon.

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.