HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

48 Years In Business

Company Details


PO Box 514
Chauvin, LA 70344


  • Mon: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
  • Tue: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
  • Wed: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
  • Thu: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
  • Fri: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
  • Sat: 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
  • Sun: 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Masonry all bricks, paver, tiles and stone work.
    • No concrete or limestone work.
    • Restore Masonry Fireplaces
    • We do NOT clean Chimneys, this requires special vac. equipment .
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Trip Charge May Apply


    18 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    Showing 1-10 of 18 results
    2.0 Angela W. New Orleans, LA

    This company was hired to complete brick steps and pavers. The owner and his wife initially informed me that they had a crew of workers who would complete these tasks. The deposit was paid, and I was informed that the project would take one week to complete. This project ended up taking over a month to complete. The owner is not able to do the work directly. His two worker crew consists of his nephew and another man that helps him when he is available. Many days the owner and two workers would come to drop off materials, but not start on any work. The owner would always say they couldn't stay due to projected rain in the weather forecast, despite it being sunshine and clear skies. Once they started the pavers, it was a very long process. The owner had to teach the nephew how to do certain parts of the pavers, which slowed the process down. The second week, the workers didn't show up at all. The owner informed me that it was after the 4th of July holiday, and that the workers would need a week to recover from getting drunk. He told me that they would complete the pavers the following week as well as the brick steps. When the third week arrived, he informed me that the other worker got another job and quit on him. He stated that he found another man to assist the nephew to complete the pavers. Once they started working again, I would end up picking up trash left behind on a daily basis. They would also leave my fan on over my deck, machinery plugged in my outlets, and my water running outside. When this started happening on a regular basis, I reported my concern to the owner and his wife. I also sent several pictures via text of the piles of trash in my yard, food that had been with mosquitos all over it, cigarette butts, as well as clothes and shoes left behind from the workers in my yard. The owners wife stated that she would inform her husband to check behind the workers on a daily basis to make sure that the trash was picked up and that everything used was turned off such as the water and machinery. This continued to happen despite me reporting this concern. The owners wife apologized and stated that she would credit my final bill for $250.00. The owners wife then charged me an additional $400.00 to my final bill, stating that my walkways measured 4.5 feet instead of 4.0 feet. I asked her why wasn't this told to me initially, and she stated that she didn't know that I wanted my walkways covered completely despite this being made clear in our initial conversation when the contract was being done. The owners wife also attempted to charge me an additional $500.00 for some pavers that her husband decided to place on one side of my deck that he stated he would do as lagniappe. I refused to pay this additional $500.00 as this wasn't work that I requested and I informed the wife that this was offered to me as lagniappe. The wife screamed at me on the phone stating that she didn't know what her husband was smoking that day, but he should have never offered to pave the side of the deck behind the house. I informed her that I wouldn't be paying that additional $500.00 fee, but did pay the additional $400.00 since I went back to measure the walkway which did measure 4.5 feet. However, the measurement of the walkway should have been done accurately from the start so I didn't feel obligated them the additional $400.00. I paid the balance due in full and the company left debris, concrete, wood, banister, and heavy pallets in my yard. I sent the owner and his wife pictures of what was left behind. I requested that they pick up what was left behind since they were paid in full, and they refused. I also sent videos to show them that the pavers were not placed correctly and were coming up when you walked on them. I later found out on Louisiana Business Filings that Bellow Masonry's license w...

    Response from Company:

    Ms. Walsh, after receipt of the first contract, changed the entire job around. Instead of sidewalks measuring 4 ft. in width, she wanted them to go from the fence to the edge of her home with no grass showing. She then decided she did not want any grass showing in her entire back yard which cause the work order to change entirely. This included 3 additional borders which she did not want to pay for. She complained about pebbles that came out of the dirt in her yard when digging and wanted that picked up, as well as this or that. We cleaned the yard entirely, when she sent the additional photos of more pebbles that were actual parts of prior stepping stones to the seating area of her patio, we knew the job had reached a level of no return. She ended up with one of the additional walkways which were not included in the original estimate at no charge because it was installed without a signed change order, but she had to pay the $400 for material used. As for the business license, as you know you can't do this work without one.

    4.5 Donna D. Metairie, LA

    Prompt, fair and very reliable. They did repairs to my pavers. Mr. Bellow, the owner, came out first and I was impressed with his honesty.

    5.0 Kelly W. New Orleans, LA

    I appreciated the regular contact prior to beginning our project. We had to delay due to COVID-19, but we appreciated how attentive Bellow Masonry was throughout the process. We ve received a ton of compliments so far on our front steps!

    5.0 Billie A. New Orleans, LA

    Wonderful people!

    2.5 Sarah C. Kenner, LA

    Buyer beware, get the full estimate in writing or will be surprised! My issue was the FINAL PRICE. John Bellow quoted a price of $2,000 for the ENTIRE project. He said if the project went over 2 days, the labor could be an extra $400 max. I then stated, so no more than $2,400 total if it takes a 3rd day. He said, yes. When I asked him if he wanted 50% down and 50% when complete, he said no just $400 for materials. The project was completed in 1 1/2 days (no extra labor). I gave him a check for $1,600. He then stated that the labor was $2,000 and the material was $400. Not honest in pricing!!!!!! The work met my expectations.

    Response from Company:

    In agreement with the estimates being in writing to avoid misunderstanding. However, this was an inspection visit and a verbal agreement to start repairs was agreed upon at the inspection visit. The total cost for the repair was $2,400.00 with materials included. It was further agreed that the cost would increase should there be additional loose tiles found around the pool that were not included in the site inspection. This is the first and last verbal agreement for us.

    3.0 Angel H. Gretna, LA

    Owner is very knowledgeable but doesn't do work himself. Worker showed up smoking and didn't do complete job. Company had to come back after I submitted pictures showing job was incomplete and/or poorly done.

    Response from Company:

    Ms. H.[Consumer name withheld at their request] did not fully discuss the project with her husband, but had Mr. H.[Consumer name withheld at their request] stay at home to over see the project. Mr. H.[Consumer name withheld at their request] did not want the joints of the tile step to have grout. I only did as the customer requested. However, the tile purchased by them would have looked better with the grouted joints. When Ms. H.[Consumer name withheld at their request] contacted me the next morning, I did return to install the grouted joints and this made her happy because as she stated it made the job look more complete and I agreed and informed her that I only did what was requested by Mr. H.[Consumer name withheld at their request].

    4.0 Dorothy M. New Orleans, LA

    They knew exactly what they were doing when they laid the concrete base first followed by the rows of bricks to form the lines required in my circular drive. (The lines had begun to cave in after many years of wear and tear of autos driving over them.) The new bricks were very nice and just the right color to fit in perfectly. Loved the end result.

    4.0 New Orleans, LA

    The brick work was done to expectations. My less than 5 star review was that the final price was more than the quote because they presented me with charges for over $100 for mortar, portland cement, etc. The scope of work was not changed, so the additional amount was not expected.

    Response from Company:

    The additional charges was for work not included in the fireplace bid. We poured 2- 4x4 sections and built a one rise brick step in the walkway fence area. This customer must have forgotten the exterior work. The scope of the work was changed.

    4.0 Metairie, LA

    It was a small job and very expensive but they did a great job.

    4.0 Des Allemands, LA

    prompt, on time


    Brick Fence

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.