American Home Improvements, LLC

HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

27 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses


11028 Terrapin Station Lane
Knoxville, TN 37932


  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials


Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Custom vinyl replacement windows
    • Gutter protection products
    • Solid vinyl siding
    • Roofing
    • Decks
    View All Offerings and Cities Served

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates
    • Credit Cards Accepted


    77 Verified Reviews
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    Showing 1-10 of 77 results
    5.0 Debbie C. Ellenton, FL

    The windows are of excellent quality, and the Customer Service is an A+ Kudos to Wanda!!

    0.50 Joan kirkland K. Lenoir City, TN

    Whatâ s wrong with Charlotte giving a review? Does the company not want positive or negative feedback? People give reviews all the time about all kinds of whatever need to be done. It appears there are more negative comments on work done than positive. The consumer is the one paying for work. The customer has a right to give a review. I can hardly believe someone from this company would complain that unfortunately Charlotte gave feedback. How does that even make sense for this company? .

    0.50 Charlotte P. Knoxville, TN

    Many promises made, and broken. It started at the signing of contract. Matt L stated that they would have a crew start in 3 weeks and it would be done 3 weeks from then. They did not start for a year, and the crew was one man. Quality of work was substandard. They did not get a permit for the work (required by law). Management (including owner Cristy Mxxxxx Sxxx) ignored many calls and messages. They cut corners, then when I said something about it, they said that those details were not in the contract or that I had refused to pay extra (when I had actually never been asked). Eventually, after standing me up over 40 times, they declared the job finished...without Matt L or Christy even coming to look at the finished project. Within 24hrs, Matt sent a text threatening to put a lien on the home. When I stood firm on not paying until the job was done, as the contract stated, Christy and Matt came out and looked at the work. She said things like nothing is perfect and it is hard to find good which I answered that we were told that they were the good help. The project was a bathroom remodel and total cost was $27k. At that cost, I expected them to handle the issues with finding good help, making sure they were on the job, and that it was done right....yet it seemed like Matt and Christy were only concerned with money and not the project. She admitted some things needed to be finished or redone. I insisted that I had waited long enough and that if they wanted to finish the job, they would need to make a new contract with detailed information, a start date, finish date, and penalties if not done on time. They never did so. They retained a lawyer that then got a bit snappy with me when I was not willing to cancel my appointments the 3 days they wanted to come to my house. He filed suit soon after. We went to court and the judge seemed most impacted by the fact that the job had taken so long, and the pictures of the work sure did not help their case. They lost. In the end, for my 27k remodel, all I had to pay was the $10k deposit that they held for a year. Beware: Their contract says that if you cancel, you owe them half the contract even if you cancel before they start, you will owe them 50% of the price. I think there is something like a 3 day window that you can cancel in writing to get it all, but I bet they would drag you along that long with excuses or avoidance to keep you from doing that. This company has a long history of making promises and not keeping them. Look at their reviews. It looks like the good ones are mainly brief, as if they're fake ones to boost up avg ;stars, The long detailed ones are almost all bad. Don Dare did an episode on them at one time. BTW, see Facebook page for Spencer England for pictures and more details of the job they botched.

    Response from Company:

    According to the US Department of Commerce, construction and contracting businesses have the highest failure rate of any other business. Up to 96% of these companies fail before reaching 10 years in business. Our company has been in business for over 20 years. We havent stayed in business this long by cutting corners, doing sub-standard work, and lying to our customers as Charlotte has suggested. As a matter of fact, we have thousands of happy customers who are pleased with our work and our company. Unfortunately, people like Charlotte are usually the only ones who take the time to submit reviews. When you purchase a new house, you walk in and everything is beautiful. During a remodeling project, you have to live every day with the mess, the noise, and the inconvenience. This obviously can be a very stressful experience. We do our very best to make the process as smooth and easy as possible. Unfortunately, most projects are not perfect due to the fact we are dealing with imperfect houses (hence the need to remodel in the first place) and imperfect people. We dont always do everything right the first time, but we always try to make it right. There were delays on both sides of this project which Charlotte conveniently fails to mention. At all times our company and our representatives have behaved professionally. On the other hand, Charlotte and her son have not done so. Her son was very rude, aggressive, condescending and was calling our installers derogatory names. We tried for months to try to reach a resolution with Charlotte, offering to fix the items that we admitted could have been done better. Unfortunately, she was not cooperative in the process, which led us to taking legal action. Her son got on my personal page, commenting on posts of me and my daughters, totally disparaging our company and myself personally. Both Charlotte and her son seemed to have a personal vendetta against me and the company. As I stated, we acted very professional and made no attempts to personally disparage either Charlotte or her son in spite of their behavior. Yes, we did lose in court and it was very disappointing. The fact that Charlotte represented herself gave her quite a bit of latitude in getting on her personal soap box and demonizing me and the company. But beating our company out of $17,000 was not enough for Charlotte and her son. They continue to harass our company on every social media outlet they can find. It is sad that they seem to get such personal satisfaction from trying to destroy a company. We are a small business made up of real people who depend on their job here to feed their families. Many contractors operating out there do not have licenses or insurance. Lots of them take money and never come back and do any work. We try to do everything right the first time and if we don't, we try to fix it. But that doesn't seem to matter. Charlotte and her son do not care about anything but pursuing their own personal vendetta. I would say businesses beware. There are so many sites online trying to protect customers from unsavory businesses, but there needs to be a site protecting businesses from unsavory customers. If there was, Charlotte should be at the top of the list.

    5.0 Rhonda R. Knoxville, TN

    I absolutely love my bathroom redo. Pepe did an excellent job on everything he did In my bathroom. I had all the later wall removed from the bathroom. I had my bathroom door made wide enough that I can now get my walker inside the bathroom. Pepe did all the electric work and plumbing. He also did the sheet rock, painting, and crown moulding and the floorboard work. He also installed the flooring. The new shower he installed for me was custom built to fit my needs as a handicapped person. I have a custom seat, shower head next to the seat and all grab bars were placed in exactly where I showed PePe to put them. Every thing I had done in my bathroom was done to perfection.

    1.0 Stephen T. Dayton, TN

    It has been almost 4 years since this company supposedly did the batting and siding on my home! Each time we called to get something repaired,(falling off) Got the man that does this broke his arm, next broke his leg! It went on and on. They hired a sub contractor to install my siding! I should have known when they showed up! Most of the equipment did not work! Used metal side cutters which left the rough cut! It shows on the siding cuts, and numerous L channel cuts around the windows! The South side of my home, the siding does not line up with the front siding, off about an inch! I mentioned before the duct damage on my A/C/ heat unit! Cost me almost $800.00! The Sunsetter they took off, and I had to reinstall $450.00! The facia, and soffit work terrible to add to the list! No one has called, to come and repair or refund the money! Do Not Trust JUSTIN"S WORD! He promised all things were common things to be done! Like the starter 1x4 board, Never happened! Trim has fallen off the bottom three times in the same location! Have not come back to repair! It's sickening and stressful to see this each day! Would love to sue them, and have it all redone, by a better company! What a waste of my good earned money! Stephen Thorn Dayton, Tennessee!

    0.50 Rev. ernie U. Knoxville, TN

    We hired them on May 5th 2023. 100 days later we ended our contract. They told us in their contract that the job would be done in 3 to 4 weeks. We called repeatedly to get a start date. All phone calls were a waste of time. Three times we were supposed to get a call back from the person incharge. Never happened. We were told over the course of 5 weeks, they were finishing a job and we were next on the list. Be very careful with them.

    1.0 Rose S. Knoxville, TN

    "Folks needing siding or window frames covered in metal..Beware! Will write more later! Remember, I warned you!! Started out with a really nice salesman,job isn't finished yet..siding has been removed in several places and repaired this far..I watched some of the work & had them to re-do as I come from a construction background & have hung siding and broke metal for windows & hung gutters myself, etc., etc., etc! far, nerves are Shot!! Couple Migraines, arguing with salesman, 1 person out of Four partially..spoke our language, I could write a book! Luckily, I've held back full payment..Several things have to be re-done AGAIN.. 3 times this far on several things and Will be re-done again when done to my satisfaction,OR close to, I'm thinking..I'm picky to a point but letting many things be looked over! I just want it done right..caught one installer not putting nails in siding after removing several pieces!! Metal on windows is Not sealed! Can put my fingers behind the & there Dirty caulk! Never used a rag nothing but Dirty fingers to smear caulk.. I picked up over 50 nails & screws this far from driveway & yard..more to come, I'm sure. Oh yeah, gutters will prob blow down the hill after first wind..or breeze! Will keep you informed."BEWARE" I'm getting upset writing..Good luck guys.

    0.50 Caren H. Kingston, TN

    Very poor communication.

    0.50 Leah H. Clinton, TN

    We got siding, windows, and doors through this AWFUL company. Almost TWO YEARS later, we are STILL WAITING on the doors to be installed!! They damaged the first set of doors in their warehouse supposedly and are now unavailable. So we picked new doors but still NOTHING!! Not to mention the half siding job with things loose already, windows installed without proper trim, and pieces missing. Our balance is paid in FULL too!! We get the run around every time we call. NEVER HIRE THIS COMPANY FOR ANYTHING!!!!! Our next step will be legal action!!

    5.0 David P. Knoxville, TN

    It found it very easy to work with the personnel from Am. Home Improv. that I met during this remodeling project. They were all very pleasant people. John is an expert on window installation and he had to replace a large window within the shower. I was particularly impressed by the quality of the workmanship of Pepe, who installed the new shower. It was excellent. Connor visited after the project was finished to inspect the work and to give us several useful tips on maintaining the shower in the future. In conclusion, me wife and I are very happy we used Am. Home. Improvements to renovate our bathroom.


    American Home Improvements, LLC
    Beautiful screen room
    Bath Planet

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page. Note that some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.

    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.