HomeAdvisor screened and approved seal

HomeAdvisor Screened & Approved

This service professional has passed the HomeAdvisor screening process.

Learn about our screening process
Learn about our screening process

13 Years In Business

Company Details

  • Verified Licenses

Hours

  • Mon:
  • Tue:
  • Wed:
  • Thu:
  • Fri:
  • Sat:
  • Sun:
View All Details & Credentials

Achievements

Service Details

    Areas of Expertise

    • Architect
    • Architect - For Business
    View All Offerings and Cities Served
    Deals

    Cost Information

    • Free Estimates
    • Save 10%

      Save 10% on When clients request professional consultation d ...

      Claim This Deal

    Ratings

    3.7
    29 Verified Reviews
    • 5
      21
    • 4
      0
    • 3
      0
    • 2
      0
    • 1
      8
    Showing 1-10 of 29 results
    5.0 Michelle G. Lehigh Acres, FL
    11/8/2022

    We would hire Alan again! We needed him to create plans for an in-law suit for my mother. The first design we received was not exactly what we wanted, but he worked with us and took in some of our ideas and created the most beautiful design that exceeded our expectations! We are thrilled! But most importantly we thought his pricing was very fair and well deserved. Thank you Alan for making my mother’s suite perfect! With Gratitude, Michelle and Don Grassey

    0.50 James T. Cape Coral, FL
    10/26/2022

    Run away from this fraudster as fast as you possibly can. First, he is not located in Naples, FL. He uses a Naples P.O. Box to mislead people into thinking he is in a prestigious area. Truth is, he does not even have an office and works from his rented condo in Fort Myers. Secondly, he has no CADD Design experience and subcontracts the work to a tech in Miami. He does not know how to use the software. We paid him in full 11 months ago for a simple 2300 square foot residence on a basic 1/4 acre lot and his plans have been rejected by the building department 5 times. He is so incompetent that he refuses to contact the building official to rectify the mistakes on the plans even though the official offered his assistance with the corrections needed to obtain our permit. Alan ego is too big and he will not speak to the official, probably because he will be exposed as the incompetent fraud that he is. He has since refused to provide plans that meet basic building codes and refuses to release the CADD file to us so we can hire a competent architect to do the job. We have since hired an attorney and will be filing suit in Circuit Court. We have filed a complaint with the board today and will proceed with legal action to recoup the tens of thousands of dollars he is cost us to date. If you want to design and complete a project, Alan D. Esparza is the last person you should call. After several attempts to resolve these issues, he has no interest in fulfilling his contract. If fact, his last phone call to me, in a completely inebriated state and slurring his speech, he said you axxxxxx from up North think the world revolves around you and good luck getting a Florida Judge to rule in an axxxxxx New Yorkers favor That is his level of professionalism. In closing, stay far away from this fraud. He will turn your project into a nightmare before you even start it.

    Response from Company:

    The above review is nothing more than slander statements against my name and professional abilities. Jim Toto of Toto Custom Homes is an unlicensed builder in Florida who moved to Cape Coral two years ago from New Jersey. Toto is not familiar with Florida construction means, methods, or techniques or the Florida Building Code. He contacted my cadd drafter without my knowledge and without my permission and had my architectural drawings, for which I am professionally responsible, changed without my knowledge which is illegal in Florida. Therefore, I refused to sign and seal the drawings, for which I would be legally responsible, to be submitted to Cape Coral for a building permit. We do not need this type of illegal behavior in Florida and especially in southwest Florida. I have been a licensed architect for more than forty years and licensed and living in southwest Florida for almost twenty years. In addition, I have been legally licensed as an architect in twelve other states. Jim Toto should not be providing construction services in southwest Florida.

    0.50 Aquil M. Lehigh Acres, FL
    8/24/2022

    I would NOT recommend Alan for any jobs. He is very unethical and unprofessional. First he gave me a quote for $800 to draw a plan for my shed. When he did not complete the drawing he blamed me and tried to add another $200 on there to rob me. I only paid him $800 for an incomplete drawing which got rejected by planning. I have tried to contact him on many occasions but have come to realize he is nothing but a thief and I am yet to receive a call from him. Beware his only method of payment is Zelle, which there is no way to get your money back! He is a Fraud and I recommend DO NOT USE HIM. SAVE YOURSELVES THE TROUBLES I WENT THRUGH

    Response from Company:

    N/A

    0.50 Carl B.
    6/8/2022

    I don't recommended using Alan D. Esparza. If you do use them, do not pay him upfront. He's a liar.

    Response from Company:

    This individual constructed a wood deck and also an above ground pool without a building permit. The local building department flagged these structures and issued a fine to the customer. When I was retained the customer did not inform me that the pool was also to be permitted. I only addressed the deck as requested. This customer performed an illegal act and was told to stop work.

    0.50 Len B. Bokeelia, FL
    5/10/2022

    In our initial conversation with Alan, we were told that the lead time to start our plans was two months and once he started it would take two weeks to finish. We are now five months into the process and have nothing to show for our time except a useless line drawing. We are building an ICF home which requires special skills to draw and we asked Alan repeatedly before signing the contract if he was familiar with drawing ICF plans. He assured us that he was familiar with ICF but he ultimately admitted he was not up to speed on ICF but that he was a quick study. At this point, we were already past his original estimate for having our plans completed and he had not even started them yet. He also admitted that he does not even know how to use CAD software which was even more discouraging. We contacted our ICF manufacturer and had them share all of the necessary engineering to help Alan get through our project and gave him the contact information for an engineer at the company that said he would answer any questions that Alan might have. Alan never contacted this person so he made no effort to try and be a quick study. He provided no feedback when we asked questions regarding our plan and outright ignored our requests for information. He refused a face-to-face meeting to try and expedite the process and we were told to back off; when we requested an update on when our plan might be completed. We could no longer stomach the delays and lack of communication and had lost all confidence in his ability to complete our plans correctly so we requested a full refund of our $2,900 retainer. We were told that he would not refund our money and that if we wanted it, we should sue him. At this point he has essentially stolen our money and five months of our time since we are no further along now than when we started. We have documented everything along this process and can substantiate all of these comments.

    Response from Company:

    The above statement is mostly untrue. At no time did I ever tell the client I was familiar with auto cadd. I have cadd techs who work for me and all my cadd work is done by them. The cadd tech working on this project is familiar with ICF and I assigned this project to him. What the client did not mention in his review is that he made multiple changes to the project including changes in scope. This created a very a very frustrating environment for my cadd tech and me. When they made changes, we had to redo our drawings to comply with their changes and as such it delayed the completion of their project. Since my cadd tech was familiar with ICF I felt no need to speak with their contractor and since they gave rough sketches of the floor plan (which was changed multiple times) having a face to face meeting was unnecessary. As for documenting this event in this process, I can also provide evidence as to their failure to clearly define the scope of the project. Their initial scope of the project included a second floor and that was eliminated; initially their plan was to have a three car garage which was then changed to four cars. To complicate things further they flipped the floor plan which was another change that caused delays as was changing window locations..

    0.50 Mary D. Lehigh Acres, FL
    9/14/2021

    He should give me a total refund for my money and make a referral for someone that is not that busy.

    Response from Company:

    Client did not provide project information as requested. Multiple phone calls and text requests went unanswered. Retainer was refunded prior to client's request.

    6/24/2021

    My wife and I are both physicians and we are new to the area after speaking with several architects we need the moment we spoke he was the best. We needed help and fast with a project that was time sensitive. He worked nights and weekends to complete the plans. Absolutely amazing architect and person. Very quick turn around time for his work. I recommend him 100%.

    5.0 Daniel M. Naples, FL
    10/25/2020

    Timely, personable, a pleasure to work with.

    5.0 Genevieve K. Lehigh Acres, FL
    5/12/2020

    Mr. Esparza went above and beyond to make the drawings I needed exactly the way the permitting office wanted them. He is very professional, works fast, and friendly. Would definitely work with him again.

    5.0 Mabel M. Lehigh Acres, FL
    4/1/2020

    Customer service,guidance and willingness to answer questions, a Blessing!

    Photos

    Alan D. Esparza, Architect
    15
    Florida Bank

    HomeAdvisor allows Service Professionals to post information about themselves and their business on their profile. HomeAdvisor does not review or verify the information representations set forth in those profiles as they are self-reported by the Service Professional.

    HomeAdvisor verifies state-level licensing where applicable - note: some states require local or county level licensing and you should verify whether or not your pro is properly licensed.
    To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Licensing Requirements page.

    Seal of Approval

    What is the screening process that Service Professionals go through in order to become members of the HomeAdvisor network?

    1. Verify Trade License
      HomeAdvisor checks to see if the business carries the appropriate state-level license.
    2. Verify Insurance
      As a part of our screening process, we encourage professionals to carry general liability insurance. We require coverage for hundreds of services.
    3. Verification of State Business Filings
      For business types that require a Secretary of State filing, we confirm that the business is in good standing in the state in which it is located.
    4. Criminal Records Search
      HomeAdvisor uses 3rd party data sources to conduct a criminal search for any relevant criminal activity associated with the owner/principal of the business.
    5. Sex Offender Search
      We confirm that the owner/principal is not listed on the official state Sex Offender web site in the state in which the owner/principal of the company is located.
    6. Bankruptcy Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the history of the principal/owner of the business for bankruptcy filings by or against them.
    7. Legal Search for Civil Judgments
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for state level civil legal judgments entered against them.
    8. Liens Search
      We use 3rd party data sources to check the principal/owner of the business for liens placed against them.
    9. Identity Verification (SSN)
      HomeAdvisor verifies the social security number(s) of the owner/principal for identity check purposes. This check applies primarily to smaller business entities.
    10. Identity Verification (Reverse Phone Lookup)
      We conduct a reverse business phone lookup to identify records matching the phone number information provided by the business.



    NOTE: Member service professional information confirmed as described above may change or expire over time; while HomeAdvisor attempts to maintain accurate and up-to-date information, and confirms changes when notified, we cannot guarantee that profile and screening information is accurate. Therefore, we recommend that before working with a service professional you verify that information presented is still current and/or acceptable to you.
    Please see HomeAdvisor's Terms and Conditions for a full description of how we screen Service Professionals

    **Only for U.S. service professionals

    Final Step - Confirm Your Appointment:

    Confirm your appointment with on , - Change


    Required
    Required
    Required
    Required
     
     
     

    By clicking Confirm Appointment, you affirm you have read and agree to the HomeAdvisor Terms & Conditions, and you agree and authorize HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, and their networks of Service Professionals, to deliver marketing calls or texts using automated technology to the number you provided above regarding your project and other home services offers. Consent is not a condition of purchase.